My Occupational Profile

Hey readers! An occupational profile is one of the first things that OTs gather from their patients. It allows us to understand who they are, why they are seeking OT services, what is important to them, and what their goals are. We learn all of this by gathering information about client factors, performance skills and patterns, and their environments and contexts. From there, we can assess what occupations are meaningful to them and how we as OTs can step in and support their participation in these activities. I thought it would be fun for me to share my occupational profile with all of you, so you can get to know me a little more! I hope you enjoy!

Occupational History

I am an occupational therapy student pursuing my doctoral degree (OTD). I graduated from Lasell College (now Lasell University) in 2018 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Exercise Science. I am from the greater Boston area, and I love living in New England. I was a dancer throughout my childhood and high school, and I played the flute and piccolo for 8 years. I am an avid Patriots fan, love Pure Barre and exercise, and am learning how to play tennis. I love traveling, reading for pleasure, riding my bike to the beach, and walking my dogs. I went on a service trip to Antigua during my senior year of college, and would love to go on another service trip one day as an OT. I am now the president of the Student Occupational Therapy Association at my school, write an OT blog, and enjoy my part-time job working with individuals with Autism.

Me at my OT school pinning ceremony
Riding bikes is one of my favorite things to do – either by the beach or in Boston by the river
I’m learning how to play tennis

Values & Interests

I value hard work, relationships, and dependability. I believe in equity for all people and that love is stronger than hate. I believe in being kind and treating others how you want to be treated.

Performance Patterns

  • Roles – I am a daughter, sister, girlfriend, friend, granddaughter, and niece. I am a student, Life Skills Coach, Personal Care Attendant, and (hopefully) a leader.
  • Routines – I commute to school on the train, work on Wednesdays, Fridays and every other Saturday, and drink tea before bed.
  • Habits – I always turn off the lights when I leave a room.
  • Rituals – I love putting up Christmas decorations the day after Thanksgiving.

Environments & Contexts

  • Physical – I split my time between my home town and Boston (commuter life), go to school in the city, ride public transportation, have two dogs and a cat.
  • Social – I have a loving and supportive boyfriend. I live at home with my parents and have a younger brother and sister. I am very close with my mom and my sister. I have a main group of friends from undergrad who I try to see 1-2 times a month. My boyfriend’s family is also a big part of my life, and I have a great relationship with his 3 sisters.
  • Cultural – I celebrate Christmas, Thanksgiving, and the Fourth of July. I go to church and brunch on Easter. I love football Sundays.
  • Personal – I am a 23 year old female graduate student. I balance a few part time jobs with school and relationships.
  • Temporal – I am a student, but most of my friends are not. I often feel like I am in a different stage of life than them, and I can’t wait until I am done with homework for good! However, I love OT school and I feel like I am in the right stage of life for me.
  • Virtual – I have an OT blog and Instagram. I enjoy reading other blogs (OT and non-OT), and I spend a lot of time on my computer and iPad for school.
Me and my boyfriend, Ryan
My family when I graduated from college
My best friends (left to right: Amanda, Alyssa, me, Lauren, & Maizie)

Goals & Desired Outcomes

It is my goal to graduate from OT school, pass the board exam, and become a registered and licensed occupational therapist! One day, I would love to explore the idea of opening my own pediatric OT clinic. I hope that my blog is helpful to future and current OT students, as well as current OTs. I try to balance my time between all of the things and people that are important to me. I am pursuing occupational balance.

Thanks for reading! Feel free to share some of your most valued occupations, roles, or goals in the comments!

One thought on “My Occupational Profile

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s